Arnold Bax

(1883 - 1953)


Sir Arnold Bax was one of the leading British symphonists to flourish between the two world wars.  He had a lifelong fascination with Celtic culture, following the discovery of the writings of Yeats.  He is best-known for his impressive series of orchestral tone poems written in the 1910s, including In the Faerie Hills (1909), The Garden of Fand (1913-16), November Woods (1917) and Tintagel (1917-19), and also his epic cycle of seven symphonies, one of the finest by any British composer.  There are also concertos for violin, cello, and Winter Legends for piano and orchestra, in addition to much chamber music and works for solo piano.  He was appointed Master of the Queen’s Music in 1942.

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904

Take a look

Tom Coult

‘Coult is someone to watch out for.’ Tempo (Paul Conway), April 2014  ...

read more