Miklós Rózsa

(1907 - 1995)


Miklós Rózsa is best known for his Hollywood and British film scores but also responsible for a significant body of chamber pieces, concertos, and orchestral music for the concert hall. His career as a composer of concert music began with the 1934 premiere of his Theme, Variations, and Finale. Rozsa began scoring films in London in 1937 with Knight Without Armour, The Four Feathers and The Thief of Baghdad. Beginning in 1940 he was a freelance composer in Hollywood, writing music for Five Graves to Cairo, Double Indemnity, The Lost Weekend, Alfred Hitchcock’s Spellbound (for which he won an Oscar), That Hamilton Woman, The Jungle Book, and another Oscar winner, A Double Life. He won his third Oscar for Ben-Hur during his fifteen-year relationship with MGM.
Rózsa continued writing concert music, including Lullaby, Madrigal for Spring, the solo piano piece Kaleidoscope, the motet To Everything There Is a Season, and the First String Quartet. His commissioned works include the Violin Concerto and Sinfonia Concertante. Other works include Notturno Ungherese, Piano Concerto, Cello Concerto, Valse Crepusculaire for piano, and Viola Concerto. He remained active as a film composer in the mid-'80s, scoring The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes and earning another Oscar nomination for his score for Nicholas Meyer's Time After Time.

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Derek Bermel

Derek Bermel is highly acclaimed by critics for his versatility and astounding capability as a musician. As an...

read more