Minoru Miki

(1930 - 2011)


Among the works of Japanese composer Minoru Miki are Marimba Spiritual (マリンバ・スピリチュアル), Time for Marimba (マリンバの時), Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra (マリンバとオーケストラの協奏曲), Paraphrase after Ancient Japanese Music (古代舞曲によるパラフレーズ), Convexity (凸 - 三群の三曲と日本太鼓のための協奏曲), Dances Concertantes No.1 “Four Seasons” (ダンス・コンセルタント第1番 -《四季》), Symphony from Life (管弦楽のための《春秋の譜》), Concerto Requiem (Koto Concerto No.3) (コンチェルト・レクイエム - 筝協奏曲第3番), Ki no Kane (黄の鐘 – Yellow Bell), Folk Symphony “Den Den Den” (伝々囀), Pipa Concerto (琵琶協奏曲) and Koto Pieces for Peace (筝ピース・フォー・ピース). Miki also wrote many operas during his lifetime including An Actor’s Revenge, Shunkinshō (春琴抄 – A Portrait of Shunkin) which won the Giraud Opera Prize and a setting of scenes from the classic novel The Tale of Genji (源氏物語). His Symphony for Two Worlds, the last of his Eurasian Trilogy (鳳凰三連) which links Japanese instruments with a symphony orchestra, was commissioned by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra for its bicentennial celebrations and was premiered by Kurt Masur who has been a champion of Miki’s music over the years.

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Ralph Vaughan Williams

'His music is an atmosphere. It does not woo the impressionable senses; it does satisfy all the moods of...

read more