'Into The Little Hill' Bestowed with RPS Award

'Into The Little Hill' Bestowed with RPS Award
George Benjamin was presented with the Large-Scale Composition award for Into the Little Hill at the Royal Philharmonic Society Awards ceremony on 12 May 2009.   

As cited from the RPS website, the jury was:
‘…impressed by the sheer skill with which the composer has created a work of immense expressive power, inventiveness, drama and beauty, of a stature way beyond the sum of its physical and temporal parts. With Into the Little Hill George Benjamin has provided music theatre with a work for our time.’

On the jury for this award was Cathy Graham, Nicholas Kok, Andrew Kurowski, Zoe Martlew and Stephen Newbould, and the award was donated by Anthony Bolton.

This distinguished award is now the third that Into the Little Hill has won in 2009.  The other accolades have included the prestigious French Diapason D’or and a 'Coup de Coeur' from the Académie Charles Cros.