Iza Ngomso


by Christopher Tin

orchestra, tenor soloist and choir
Kani Maqubela
Chorus with Orchestra/Large Ensemble
Poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
2(II=picc).2.2.2 - 4331 - timp - perc(4): gc/tam-t/susp.cym/chimes/glsp/ptti - cel - harp - strings

Commissioned by Waterford Union High School

First Performance
FP: 05/01/2014 Waterford Union High School (Wisconsin, USA): Waterford Union High School Choirs, Derek Machan

Score and parts available for hire (outside North America).

Published by Warner/Chappell.  Administered for hire worldwide (outside North America) by Faber Music Ltd

Programme Notes

"Iza Ngomso" is the fourth movement of The Drop That Contained the Sea, and like the rest of the movements, is based on water in one of its unique naturally occuring states. In the case of "Iza Ngomso", a piece about clouds, the text is derived from an unusual translation of the Henry Wadsworth Longfellow poem "Kerabos": translated into Xhosa, one of the national languages of South Africa (and one of the African dialects that features prominent 'click' sounds).

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Carl Vine

'A major talent ... someone capable of breaking genuinely new ground and getting things to grow in it.'...

read more