piano quartet
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
First Performance
11.3.1997, BBC Pebble Mill, Birmingham, UK: The Composers Ensemble

Pian score 057156335X (fp), and piano score and parts 0571563341 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

Although Adagissimo is short (lasting about eight minutes) it is built from numerous tiny inventions. The piece opens with slow, spare gestures passed gently back and forth between piano and strings. Next comes a series of sharply intercut images: spindly, toyshop mechanisms, wild folk dances flowering for seconds before being snuffed out, and a repeated slow, tender fall into darkness. The penultimate music is a scurrying recollection of my clarinet trio, A Farewell, which leads to a slow, bleached canon, marked 'Adagissimo'.

© JW

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Howard Goodall

Howard Goodall is an EMMY, BRIT, Gramophone and BAFTA winning composer of choral music, stage musicals, film and...

read more