violin and piano
Commissioned by Lorraine McAslan
First Performance
27.10.86, Purcell Room, London, UK: Lorraine McAslan/Nigel Clayton

Piano score and part 0-571-55277-3 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

Aria was written in 1986 for Lorraine McAslan. The title refers to the shape of the piece and to the fact that the violin sings throughout. The aria proper is prefaced by an introduction where one might imagine the singer practising scales, followed by a cadenza where the scales become more florid. The main melody of the aria appears four times in four different registers of the violin.

© David Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Michael Daugherty

One of the most performed of all contemporary American composers, multiple Grammy Award-winning Michael...

read more