solo bassoon
solo bassoon
Commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra for David Breidenthal
First Performance
3.11.03, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles, USA: LA Philharmonic Concert/David Breidenthal
score on special sale from the hire library
Programme Notes
Bassoonova is probably not to be danced to, indeed has not a great deal of the bossa nova about it. But the title, suggested to me flippantly by the film maker Barrie Gavin, became irresistible. It has five movements, which are played with as little break between them as possible. They are: Allegro - Molto Vivo - Recitativo - Ostinato - Allegretto, and the work lasts just under 9 minutes. Bassoonova was written at the request of Steven Stucky for David Breidenthal, and commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic New Music Group, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Music Director.

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Tom Coult

Watch the London Sinfonietta's profile of Tom Coult here:


read more