clarinet and piano
Commissioned by Julia Holmes
First Performance
22.10.81, Purcell Room, London: Julia Holmes/Julian Elloway

Piano score and part 0-571-50688-7 on sale

Programme Notes
Be(com)ing is so called because, although the music changes quite dramatically, becomes something, with regard to its surface patterns and ways of producing sounds on clarinet and piano, the basic structure does not change but goes on repeating the harmonic and melodic patterns as before: the play of the relative world within the absolute world of ‘being’. For both instruments, silence (or near silence) is always followed by soft, gentle music, which is always followed by energetic music. This threefold sequence occurs throughout, but clarinet and piano are not ‘in sync.’, each follows its cycles independently of the other. The work was commissioned by the young virtuoso Julia Holmes with funds provided by South East Arts, and first performed by her with Julian Elloway. The demands made on both instruments are very considerable, and the clarinet especially is asked to produce many new sounds, including microtones. Jonathan Harvey

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

George Benjamin

‘Each of Benjamin’s orchestral works… is a miraculously crafted masterpiece, often the result...

read more