Berceuse and Sarabande


From Suite for Piano
First Performance
(Berceuse) 11.11.78, Wigmore Hall, London: Hugh Petter

Score 0-571-50613-5 on sale

Programme Notes

Colin Matthews Suite for Piano Toccata – Nocturne – Scherzo – Bercueuse – Sarabande The five movements that make up this Suite were composed between 1976 and 1979. Al of them may be played as separate pieces, but they were originally intended to form a group, and there are thematic links between them. The Toccata is a percussive movement, obsessed with the note E flat, which occurs in all registers and whose repetitions gradually accelerate. The quiet mood of the Nocturne is in complete contrast: it avoids E flat until its very last note, and revolves around three notes – C, B flat and B natural – which had not appeared at all in the Toccata. The Scherzo is aggressive and volatile, with a placed ‘trio’ section. The other two movements are both slow; but whereas the Berceuse (dedicated to my son Dan, who managed to sleep throughout the first performance in 1978) is very hushed, with a muted climax, the Sarabande (dedicated to Oliver Knussen) gradually increases in intensity until, after its climax, it quickly subsides. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Thomas Adès

read more