Concerto Conciso


by Thomas Adès

piano and chamber ensemble of 10 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble, Solo Instrument with Ensemble
cl.bsax – tpt.trbn.tuba – perc(1): timp/crot/3 rototoms/5 tuned wood drum/log drum/talking drum/wood chimes/hi-hat/tam-t/anvil/pedal BD/2 stones/foam – pno – 3 vln.db (all string instruments and clarinet need amplification, bass requires a contact microphone)

Commissioned by Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, London Sinfonietta and Ensemble Modern with financial assistance from the Arts Council of England and the following Sound (OI)

First Performance
28.10.97, Adrian Boult Hall, Birmingham, UK: Birmingham Contemporary Music Group/Thomas Adès

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes
Thomas Adès Concerto Conciso (1997) Commissioned by Birmingham Contemporary Music Group (BCMG), London Sinfonietta and Ensemble Modern with financial assistance from the Arts Council of England and Sound Investors through the BCMG Sound Investment Scheme. The work is scored for solo piano and an ensemble of ten players, comprising clarinet, baritone saxophone, trumpet, trombone, tuba, percussion, 3 violins and double bass. It is in two movements. The first was originally entitled AStudy for a Coda@, and casts the pianist in the deliberately restricted role of musical director, with a semi-soloistic continuo part. The soloist is released, and claims centre stage, at the beginning of the second movement. This has two parts: firstly, a slow Aciacconetta@, which runs through six divisions upon a seven-bar chord sequence announced by the piano; secondly, a fast Abrawl@ in a tonality discovered by an unexpected resolution of the last cycle of the Aciacconetta@. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians describes the mediaeval English dance which this section might evoke (from the French Abranle@) as a form of round-dance: Athe linked dancers. . . face inwards to the centre of an arc, or a full circle, moving sideways to the left and the right@. Thomas Adès

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Derek Bermel

Derek Bermel is highly acclaimed by critics for his versatility and astounding capability as a musician. As an...

read more