Concerto for Cello (2005 version)


by Jonathan Harvey

cello and orchestra
Solo Instruments with Orchestra
3(II+III=picc).3(III=ca).3(III=bcl).3(III=cbsn) - 4331 - perc(2): 2 wdbl/ tgl/5 susp.cym/mark tree/t.bells/tam-t/guiro/4 c.bell/japanese temple bell/bongos/BD/gong - vib - glsp(=crot/tgl) - cel - elec keyboard - harp - strings
First Performance
7.12.90, Royal Festival Hall, London: Frances-Marie Uitti/BBC Symphony Orchestra/Lothar Zagrosek FP 2005 version: 23.10.05: deSingel, Antwerp, Belgium: Arne Deforce/Martyn Brabbins

Score, solo part, DX7IID disk and parts for hire

Programme Notes

If there is a ‘programme’ to this piece then it concerns man’s relation to bliss (ananda): presence, absence, pathways to and from it. Like much of the composer’s recent music it uses a chain of linked melodies for statement, transformation, polyphony and fragmentation. There is a ‘concertante’ group which consists of glockenspiel, crotales, electric keyboard, celesta, harp and vibraphone. This group, like a chariot of light, often takes the solo cello on a sort of celestial journey, lifting it as it were out of its dialectic with the main orchestra. In 2005 a new version was made which lightened the orchestration generally and added some material, such as extending a cadenza. This permits even more the role of the cello to be not the usual macho heroic one, rather a gentle, sensitive and receptive one, reflecting the response of bliss to what the cello-protagonist hears. It is dedicated to Frances-Marie Uitti. Jonathan Harvey

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Harvey’s Cello

As Harvey's cello is donated to St John's College, Cambridge we look back at his works for the instrument. Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Anders Hillborg

‘Hillborg’s 11-minute soundscape [Beast Sampler] was imaginative and far from beastly. He conjured...

read more