Violin Concerto - Concentric Paths


by Thomas Adès

violin and chamber orchestra
Solo Instruments with Orchestra
2(I&II=picc)22(I=Bb,II=A)2 - 3211 - perc(2): BD/low wood drum/SD/3 low drums of different pitches/tam-t/clash cyms/susp cym/small bongo/metal guero/wood guero/wdbl/cowbell/metal can/metal block - timp - strings (
Commissioned by the Berliner Festspiele and by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Music Director. Underwritten by Lenore and Bernard Greenberg
First Performance
4.9.05: Berliner Festspiele: Kammermusiksaal, Berlin: Anthony Marwood/Chamber Orchestra of Europe/Thomas Adès

score 0-571-53105-9 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes
Violin Concerto – “Concentric Paths” I Rings II Paths III Rounds This concerto has three movements, like most, but it is really more of a triptych, as the middle one is the largest. It is the “slow” movement, built from two large, and very many small, independent cycles, which overlap and clash, sometimes violently, in their motion towards resolution. The outer movements too are circular in design, the first fast, with sheets of unstable harmony in different orbits, the third playful, at ease, with stable cycles moving in harmony at different rates

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

New Ballets

Leading choreographer Wayne McGregor chose Adès’ Violin Concerto – Concentric Paths to choreograph and present with the New York City Ballet in May. There were five performances. Read more

‘Concerto for Violin – Concentric Paths’ is a resounding success

‘Superb, memorable stuff. Yes, indeed, a great work’ ‘From its urgent opening to its nervy, pacing close, the Violin Concerto juggles tension with a real sense of soul-searching and of seeking to understand. Yet, as ever with this composer, his dramatic instincts make for vibrant, compelling listening. I was transfixed, for instance, by the way the questing opening of the second movement is offset by suddenly louring strings and brass that, no longer lazily ambling, return with menacing fo Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Take a look

Michael Daugherty

One of the most performed American composers of his generation.  Hailed by The Times (London) as “a...

read more