Falling Down


a capricho for double bassoon and orchestra
Solo Instrument(s) with Orchestra
3(III=picc).3(III=ca).3(I=Ebcl.III=bcl).2 - 4431 - timp - perc: susp.cym/hi-hat/clash.cym/lion's roar/BD - strings
Commissioned by the CBSO and dedicated to Margaret Cookhorn
First Performance
24.7.09, Symphony Hall, Birmingham, UK: Margaret Cookhorn/CBSO/Andris Nelsons

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

Commissioned by the CBSO, ‘Falling Down’ is one of those rare creatures, a concerto for contrabassoon and orchestra. The title explains itself: the piece begins and ends with music that tumbles from the top of the orchestra down to the depths where the contra lives. The dialogue in between is a dark capriccio intercut with lyrical moments. The orchestra isn’t set in opposition to the soloist (except in strength of numbers); other deep and dark instruments (tuba, cor anglais, bass drum and lion’s roar) have parts to play. There is a concertante part for two sets of timpani placed on opposite sides of the stage. ‘Falling Down’ is dedicated to Margaret Cookhorn, the CBSO’s wonderful contra player.

© John Woolrich

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Benjamin Britten

The founding composer of Faber Music, Benjamin Britten is a central figure in this history of British music....

read more