Five Studies


First Performance
(complete) 14.5.1976, Wigmore Hall, London, UK: Hugh Petter

A4 score 0-571-50517-1 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

Colin Matthews Five Studies for piano The second, third and fifth of these studies were composed in 1974, the other two a year later. The fifth in particular reflects my interest at that time in minimalism, but all are relatively simple in concept. The first is a gentle sequence of chord permutations; the second a study on black and white keys whose speed is left to the performer; the third alternates flowing and static seventh chords; and the fourth is a study in rhythm. The final study builds from a simple figure by a continuous process of octave displacement. The first complete performance was given by Hugh Petter at the Wigmore Hall, London, on 14th May 1976. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Five Studies' reviews

‘Matthews’s pieces explore various compositional gambits as much as they test diverse pianistic skills. Indeed, it is surprising that the same composer should have produced within two years an utterly simple chain of chord progressions, a spirited toccata, an essay in rippling slow and still harmony, a display of quirky rhythmic exchanges and a gentle offshoot from Steve Reich. What stamps the set, however, is the sure harmonic sense unintimidated by tonality …’ Financial Times (Paul Griffith Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Carl Davis



read more