Litany, A


by John Woolrich

oboe and string orchestra
Solo Instruments with Orchestra, String Orchestra
First Performance
29.1.00, St Andrew's Hall, Norwich: Britten Sinfonia/Nicholas Daniel

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

A Litany is a transcription and recomposition of an oboe quintet which I wrote for Nicholas Daniel to play at the Leicester Festival in 1998. It lasts about quarter of an hour and is a mosaic of a couple of dozen very short pieces: laments, midnight chimes, chorales, nocturnes, fragments and echoes. It is music of darkness and stillness, sometimes on the edge of silence.


Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Benjamin Britten

BRITTEN 100 ‘I am sure that Britten’s time is not yet come; his greatness is not yet realised in...

read more