by Thomas Adès


Co-Commissioned by the Carnegie Hall, Barbican Centre, Het Concertgebouw NV, Los Angeles Philharmonic Association and San Francisco Symphony

First Performance
10.2.10, Carnegie Hall, New York, USA: Emanuel Ax

Score 0-571-52011-1 on sale

Programme Notes

Mazurkas Op.27 i - Moderato ii - Prestissimo molto espressivo iii - Grave maestoso

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Mazurkas' reviews

‘It is hard to imagine a mazurka conceived outside Chopin’s shados, and Ades’s are manifestly within the stylistic remit, acknowledging the distinctive accentuation and ornamentation, and four-bar phrasing. At least to begin with. Yet these ‘givens’ start to deliquesce. Ades own distinctive metrical complexity infiltrates old certainties and puts the familiar form before distorting mirrors. The music is charming and alarming at the same time.' Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Martin Suckling

“a young composer whose star is resolutely in the ascendant.” The Times (Sarah Unwin...

read more