Montana Taylor's Blues - arrangement of the slow movement of the Oboe Concerto


violin and piano
First Performance
25.6.96, Purcell Room, London: Peter Sheppard Skaerved/Alan Shorr

Piano score and part 0-571-56152-7 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

This piece began life as the fourth movement of my Oboe Concerto (1992). I subsequently made an arrangement for oboe and piano, and in 1996, another for violin and piano for Peter Sheppard Skaerved. Arthur ‘Montana’ Taylor was a remarkable but little-known blues pianist who made a handful of recordings in the 1930s and 1940s. My piece is based on a piano blues of his which I heard on the radio and which has haunted me ever since. I was particularly struck by the poignant harmony which suggested that Taylor must have heard some classical music – Schubert? – during his itincrant life.

© David Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Tansy Davies

read more