Montana Taylor's Blues - arrangement of the slow movement of the Oboe Concerto


oboe and piano
Oboe/Cor Anglais
First Performance
24.6.93, Tisnov, Czech Republic: Milan Kanak/PeterGraham

Piano score and part 0-571-56156-X (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

This piece began life as the fourth movement of my Oboe Concerto (1992). I subsequently made an arrangement for oboe and piano, and in 1996, another for violin and piano for Peter Sheppard Skaerved. Arthur ‘Montana’ Taylor was a remarkable but little-known blues pianist who made a handful of recordings in the 1930s and 1940s. My piece is based on a piano blues of his which I heard on the radio and which has haunted me ever since. I was particularly struck by the poignant harmony which suggested that Taylor must have heard some classical music – Schubert? – during his itinerant life.

© David Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Howard Goodall

Howard Goodall is an EMMY, BRIT, Gramophone and BAFTA winning composer of choral music, stage musicals, film and...

read more