Flute/piccolo and piano
Commissioned by the Nicholas Yonge Society
First Performance
20.4.84, Priory School, Lewes: Philippa Davies/JulianJacobson

Piano score and part 0-571-50761-1 on sale

Programme Notes

Nataraja was commissioned by the Nicholas Yonge Society. Nataraja is the name given to Shiva in his aspect as the four-armed dancer whose movements created and destroy matter throughout eternity. His image was the starting point of this piece, which was composed in 1983. The outer sections are characterised by dancing rhythms; they frame a middle section in which a more tranquil melody winds through static harmonies, though there is a suggestions of the flames which encircle the god in one more energetic moment. Jonathan Harvey

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Nataraja' reviews

'It is a bright, flashing and explosive piece with more than a hint of Eastern ritual to its spiritual makeup.' The New York Times (Tim Page), 14 December 1986 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

John Woolrich

read more