Piano Concertino


by Francisco Coll

piano and orchestra
Solo Instruments with Orchestra, Piano
2 picc.0.1.ca.cl.bcl.cbcl.bsax.2 cbsn - 2110 - perc(3): glsp/xyl/mar/BD/cabasa/cast/Chinese.cym/crot/glass bottles/guiro/hi-hat cym/large tin/metal bar/piece of wood/siz.cym/snare drum/susp.cym/tamb/tom-t/tgl/tuned gong - hpschd (synth) - pno - 6 vlc.2 db

Commissioned by the Valencia Youth Orchestra

First Performance
12.4.2012, Auditoro de Torrevieja, Spain: Nicolas Hodges/Valencia Youth Orchestra/Manuel Galduf

Score 0-571-53898-3 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

In this work for piano and orchestra I tried to evoke my concerns and social preoccupations in a sonic environment. The main material of the work is a Spanish folk dance, specifically a Zortziko, but this is fragmented, rarely appearing on the surface of the piece. The work begins with a ruthless energy, half bewildered, evoking the current social leader, but the mass following this hero soon finds itself immersed in existential uncertainty. The superficial and deep merge into the same space creating something old and deformed that in the end acquires energy by structural cohesion, and the different motives present themselves in an almost dreamlike way. Thus the pianist takes on the role of a leader in what could be a modern mass culture, rather than soloistic character traditionally associated with the concerto form. The piece has an open ending. This doesn’t give answers, it only poses questions, and says ‘I’m not saying nothing.’

Francisco Coll

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

UK Premiere of Coll's 'vividly imagined' Piano Concertino

Francisco Coll’s Piano Concertino received its UK premiere in June at Symphony Hall, Birmingham before travelling to the Aldeburgh Festival. Performed by Nicolas Hodges and the CBSO under Thomas Adès, this four-movement work made a strong and lasting impression on audiences. Read more

World premiere of Coll's Piano Concertino

In April Francisco Coll’s new 10-minute work for piano and orchestra, 'No seré yo quien diga nada', was premiered by the renowned pianist Nicolas Hodges and the Valencia Youth Orchestr. Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Thomas Adès

 ‘One of the most accomplished and complete musicians of his generation’ The New York...

read more