by Thomas Adès

voyage for orchestra
Full Orchestra
3(II=picc.III=picc+afl).3.3 in A (III=bcl).2.contraforte(or cbsn with low A) - 4 (optionally 8 horns).picc tpt.3.3.1 (contrabass if possible) - timp - perc(6): mar/vib/glsp/t.bells/crot/wood chimes/shell chimes/tam-t/BD - 2 hp - pno(=cel) - strings

Commissioned by the New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy, for the opening of the New World Symphony concert hall. Partnered by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the New York Philharmonic Orchestra (Alan Gilbert, Music Director), the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, The Barbican, London, the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the San Francisco Symphony

First Performance
26.1.2011, New World Centre, Miami, FL, USA: New World Symphony/Michael Tilson Thomas

Score on sale 0-571-53682-4, parts for hire. For the video installation, please contact the hire library for a referral to the video artist.

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Adès LSO Focus

Asyla, Tevot, Brahms and Polaris feature in two concerts conducted by the composer Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Take a look

David Matthews

‘few other living composers can deploy the classical virtues of clarity, tradition and restraint to such...

read more