Powder Her Face Suite


by Thomas Adès

large orchestra
Full Orchestra
3(III=picc).3.3(all=bcl).ssax.asax(=tsax).2.contraforte(=bsn) – – timp – perc(3): glsp/xyl/t.bells/2 susp.cym/clash.cym/antique.cym/hi-hat.cym/tam-t/SD/2 kit BD/orchestral BD/small rototom/3 brake drums/high bongo/Monkey drum/3 tpl.bl/guero/2 whips/small rattle/tgl/tamb/large washboard/small anvil/lion's roar/paper bag/wood chimes/cabasa/popgun – harp – pno – strings
Powder Her Face Suite (2017) incorporates four newly-orchestrated sections of the 1995 chamber opera, interpolated between new orchestrations of the three existing Dances from Powder Her Face (2007)*, to make an extended, full-length symphonic suite
Powder Her Face Suite was co-commissioned by the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, the London Philharmonic Orchestra with the generous support of The Boltini Trust, The Philadelphia Orchestra, Carnegie Hall, and the St. Louis Symphony
*Dances from Powder Her Face (12 minutes) was commissioned by the Aldeburgh Festival, the Philharmonia Orchestra and The Cleveland Orchestra
First Performance
31.5.2017, Philharmonie, Berlin, Germany: Berliner Philharmoniker/Sir Simon Rattle

Score and parts in preparation

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Tom Coult

‘Coult is someone to watch out for.’ Tempo (Paul Conway), April 2014  ...

read more