Prometheus Fragment


by Colin Matthews

12 part chorus and small orchestra
Chorus with Orchestra/Large Ensemble, Small Orchestra
Aeschylos Prometheus Bound 431-5
perc(1): tam-t/susp.cym - strings
First Performance
9.4.89, Queen Elizabeth Hall, London: Holst Singers/City of London Sinfonia/Hilary Davon Wetton

Study score (fp) 0-571-55450-4 and vocal score (fp) 0-571-55451-2 on sale, full score and parts for hire

Programme Notes
Colin Matthews Prometheus – Fragment This tiny fragment of Aeschylus’ Prometheus Bound, sung in Greek, was written for the Holst Singers in January 1989, and is intended to be the first of a short sequence of choruses. The ocean wave moans for him, the depths weep, the cavernous black world of the dead mourns, and the springs of pure flowing rivers weep for his piteous pain Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Martin Suckling

“a young composer whose star is resolutely in the ascendant.” The Times (Sarah Unwin...

read more