Reflected Images


Full Orchestra
2(II=picc) - 4331 - timp - perc(4): BD/BD+cym/SD/TD/large military drum/tam-t/susp.cym/sizz.cym/hi-hat/tgl/tamb/mcas/lujon/1 or 2 glock/vib/crot/mar/xyl - harp - pno/cel - strings (violins divided into 3)
Commissioned by the San Francisco Symphony
First Performance
2.10.2003, Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco, USA: San Francisco Symphony Orchestra/Michael Tilson Thomas

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes
Reflected Images is a single 12-13 minute work, divided into four parts of roughly equal length which play without a break. All four parts are inter-related, and might be thought of as four different ways of looking at the same thing, although all are in some way elusive, almost as if what is being looked at is seen out of the corner of the eye. The concept, although definitely not the content, of the individual parts has been influenced by my recent work on Debussy's Preludes, and each section has a title, although it is, like Debussy's, not revealed until the end. The titles (or perhaps it would be better to call them afterthoughts) are: Distant Waltz, Past March, Present Recitative and Future Movement. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Derek Bermel

US composer and clarinettist Derek Bermel has been widely hailed for his creativity, theatricality, and virtuosity...

read more