Scarlatti Sonatas Set 1


by John Woolrich

percussion and chamber orchestra
Solo Instruments with Orchestra
solo xyl (=mar) - 2222 - 2200 - strings

Commissioned by the Britten Sinfonia, Evelyn Glennie and Woodend Arts Association

First Performance
20.9.05: West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge: Evelyn Glennie/Britten Sinfonia/James Macmillan

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

Commissioned by the Britten Sinfonia, Evelyn Glennie and Woodend Arts Association. One of Domenico Scarlatti’s contemporaries described him as ‘a grave young man dressed in black and in a black wig’. When he played it was as if ‘ten hundred devils had been at the instrument’. Scarlatti was born in Naples in 1685 (the same year as Bach and Handel) and worked mostly in Portugal and Spain. He wrote five hundred and fifty five keyboard sonatas (which he called ‘essercizi’). He described them as ‘an ingenious Jesting with Art’. There are three in this set of transcriptions: K.435, a toccata, K.213, slow and dissonant, and K.181. John Woolrich 2005

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Tom Coult

‘Coult is someone to watch out for.’ Tempo (Paul Conway), April 2014  ...

read more