Siegfried Interlude No. 4 - The Ride of the (Viola) Valkyries


by Matthew Hindson

eight violas
String Ensemble
Commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra for first performance at the launch of their 2000 Season.
First Performance
2000, Sydney, Australia: members of Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Score 0-571-56630-8 (fp) and parts 0-571-56631-6 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes
Siegfried Interlude No. 4 was commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra for first performance at the launch of their 1999 Season. At the time, the SSO viola section was made up exclusively by women, and since the SSO were going to perform Die Walkure the following year, it seemed fitting that an arrangement of one of the best known parts from that opera, "The Ride of the Valkyries", was done for this section. So whilst not technically part of Siegfried, it nevertheless forms part of the Siegfried Interlude series. The arrangement takes into account what sort of things the Valkyries might get up to (i.e. going clubbing) if they were around today!

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828904

Take a look

David Matthews

‘few other living composers can deploy the classical virtues of clarity, tradition and restraint to such...

read more