Sleeping Lord, The


by David Matthews

soprano and chamber ensemble of 7 players
Solo Voice, Mixed Chamber Ensemble
David Jones
Instrumentation - harp - string quartet
Commissioned by the Bath Festival with funds provided from the Arts Council of Great Britain
First Performance
29.5.92, Prague Spring Festival, Czechoslovakia: Nash Ensemble/Patrizia Kwella/Ian Brown
Study score 51484 7 on sale, parts for hire

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'The Sleeping Lord' review

'…it is transformed by the rich, allusive, almost drugged intensity of Matthews’s score – with Brittenesque nocturnal features but entering an atmospheric sound world of its own. A beautifully considered piece. The Sleeping Lord throws down no gauntlet; but it sets a standard for a kind of English Pastoral whose appeal goes beyond nostalgia' The Independent on Sunday (Michael White), 7 June 1992 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Take a look

Benjamin Britten

BRITTEN 100 ‘I am sure that Britten’s time is not yet come; his greatness is not yet realised in...

read more