Sonata for Cello and Eight Instruments


  • Huw Watkins
solo cello and chamber ensemble of 8 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble, Solo Instrument(s) with Ensemble, Cello and Ensemble
solo vlc - - pno - 2 vln.vla.db

Commissioned by Faber Music Ltd for its Millennium Series. Huw Watkins was nominated by Thomas Ades.

First Performance
18.3.99, Purcell Room, London: Paul Watkins/Nash Ensemble/Martyn Brabbins

Score 0-571-51924-5 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

Huw Watkins’ Sonata for Cello and Eight Instruments was composed for his brother, Paul, to perform with the Nash Ensemble. Its first movement is a vigorous Allegro in sonata form. The cello plays almost continuously throughout the movement, resting only in the more lyrical, central section. In the second movement the cello assumes a lyrical character against the austere background provided by the woodwind. The last movement is another Allegro which dissolves in a recapitulatory coda after reaching its climax. Sonata for Cello and Eight Instruments is a Faber Music Millennium Series commission. Huw Watkins was nominated by Thomas Adès.

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Oliver Knussen

One of the great composer-conductors of our time, Oliver Knussen created a body of work characterised by its...

read more