Sydney Singing


clarinet and piano
Commissioned jointly by the Cheltenham and Sydney Festivals

Score and part on special sale from the Hire Library

Programme Notes
Peter Sculthorpe Sydney Singing This work lovingly describes my feelings about certain well-known places in Sydney. It makes references to popular music and its five movements, all very straightforward, are motivically related. The movements are: Prelude, From Bondi Beach, At Circular Quay, From Kings Cross, and Postlude. Following the Prelude, the second movement, the longest, is concerned with lazy days spent at Bondi Beach. The third movement begins and ends with night sounds on water, its central section suggesting an operatic aria floating across from the Opera House. In the fourth movement, I recall a time in my youth, when I lived in Kings Cross writing music for the theatre. Bringing the work to a close, the Postlude refers to earlier material. Sydney Singing is a joint commission from the festivals of Cheltenham and Sydney. It was written especially for Nicholas Daniel and Julius Drake, for first performance in the Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham, on 6 July 2002. Peter Sculthorpe

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Ralph Vaughan Williams

One of the defining voices in English Music, a leading 20th-century symphonist and a crucial figure in the...

read more