Three Preludes


Written for Sarah Nicolls
First Performance
10.07.04: Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham: Sarah Nicolls

Score on special sale from the Hire Library

Programme Notes
These three piano pieces were written to fulfill a long-standing promise to write a work for Sarah Nicolls. At the same time they served as studies for parts of two orchestral pieces that I was working on in the spring of 2002, although I was careful not to think of them as anything other than piano pieces while I was writing them. The first is vigorous and toccata-like; the second is slow and marked by chains of descending chords; and the third is a two part invention in the form of an ever-crescendoing ostinato. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Three Preludes' reviews

‘… an orchestration in the richest sense, going far beyond the confines of piano texture to produce a stunning new work. The virtuosic ‘Ce qu’a vu le Vent d’Ouest’ received especially extravagant treatment, with vivid colouring that never became eccentric. The result was so effective it is only surprising that Debussy did not think of it first.’ The Guardian (Pauline Fairclough), 13 October 2001 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Peter Sculthorpe

read more