Three Studies


clarinet/bass clarinet and piano
cl(=bcl+Ebcl ad lib)
First Performance
13.5.92, Dartington Hall: Edward Pillinger/Suzanne Cheetham

Piano score and part 0-571-55315-X (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

The first and third of these studies are arrangements of my Three Enigmas for cello and piano, composed in 1985. The original cello part has, of course, had to be substantially recomposed for clarinet (and bass clarinet in the third study), while the piano part remains unchanged. The second study is new, replacing a piece in which the cello was virtually unaccompanied with a study for solo E flat (or B flat) clarinet which consists of a slowly descending decorated chromatic scale, marked ‘very still and subdued’ in the score. The outer studies are basically fast and hectic, though with moments of repose, and a feature of both is that clarinet and piano have extended passages in unison. The first performance was given by Edward Pillinger and Suzanne Cheetham at Dartington in May 1992.

Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Carl Davis



read more