Total Tango


by David Matthews

string orchestra
String Orchestra
Written for the Deal and Presteigne Festivals, 2003.
First Performance
2.8.03, UK, Deal Summer Music Festival, St George's Church, Deal: Deal Festival Orchestra/George Vass

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes
David Matthews Tango for string orchestra Op. 80a This tango was originally composed in 1990 as the fourth movement of my Fourth Symphony. It was intended there as a modern equivalent of the classical minuet. I am fond of the piece - the tango is the most alluring of contemporary dances - and I have made a number of arrangements of it, for solo piano, wind band and various chamber ensembles. Total Tango was written for the Deal and Presteigne Festivals, 2003. David Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Anders Hillborg

‘Hillborg’s 11-minute soundscape [Beast Sampler] was imaginative and far from beastly. He conjured...

read more