Ulysses Awakes


viola and 10 solo strings
Solo Instrument(s) with Ensemble, String Ensemble, String Orchestra, Viola
6 vln.vla.2 vlc.db
First Performance
11.8.89, Dartington International Summer School, Devon: Guildhall String Ensemble/Clare Finnimore

Score 0-571-51289-5 and solo viola part (fp) 0-571-55851-8 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

John Woolrich after Monteverdi Ulysses Awakes (1989) There are two great arias at the beginning of Monteverdi’s opera ‘Il ritorno d’Ulisse in Patria’: one for Penelope, and this one for Ulysses, waking on the shore of his homeland. In this retelling, the viola sings Ulysses. Ulysses Awakes was commissioned by Gavin Henderson for Dartington International Summer School and first performed here by Clare Finnimore and the Guildhall String Ensemble on August 11th 1989.

© John Woolrich

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Derek Bermel

US composer and clarinettist Derek Bermel has been widely hailed for his creativity, theatricality, and virtuosity...

read more