Instrumentation in Eb.bcl - hn.tpt - perc(2): 4 tin cans/frying pan/4 bongos/tgl/wdbl/temple block/guero/flexatone/small susp.cym/pedal BD/chamber BD/xyl/glspn - solo vla - 2


Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

Commissioned by the London Sinfonietta, Ad Marginem, “At the margin”, is the vestige of a concertant-piece for viola and ensemble, in which the viola functions as a leader of a mass culture rather than an individual. As I did before with my piano concertino, I tried now with Ad Marginem, to express again my social concerns and obsessions through the sonic medium. I find a kind of parallelism between the individual versus the mass and the soloist versus the ensemble. The piece is written in four independent movements: Chaccone-Hymnus-Ballata-Kanon.

Francisco Coll, 2013


Ad Marginem

10.30pm Hear & Now Broadcast of World Premiere on 8 December 2013

BBC Radio 3 (United Kingdom)

London Sinfonietta, Baldur Brönnimann

Ad Marginem


Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre (London, United Kingdom)

London Sinfonietta, Baldur Brönnimann

Find Out More