Adagio for String Orchestra


string orchestra
String Orchestra
First Performance
11.8.95, Dartington International Summer School, Great Hall: Opus 20/Thomas Ad├Ęs

Score 0-571-51928-8 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

The first performance of Adagio for String Orchestra was given by Opus 20 conducted by Thomas Ades at the Dartington International Summer School, Devon, on 11 August 1996 In memory of Peter Fuller, died 28 April 1990 Programme Note In April 1990 my friend the art critic Peter Fuller was tragically killed in a car accident. I wrote an Adagio for string quartet in his memory, and it was played at his memorial service by the Brodsky Quartet. In 1991, when I was commissioned to write a Sixth String Quartet for the Brindisi Quartet, I used the piece as the basis of an extended slow movement, which I also dedicated to Peter's memory. This arrangement for string orchestra was made in 1994. My original metronome mark for the piece was = 48, but for a performance by the Brodsky Quartet in 1994 I asked them to try it at = 48. The experiment worked well, I thought; but no tempo should be regarded as definite, and conductors may choose any tempo between = 48 and = 48 that seems comfortable.

© David Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Michael Daugherty

One of the most performed of all contemporary American composers, multiple Grammy Award-winning Michael...

read more