Living Toys


chamber ensemble of 14 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
1(=picc).1(=ca+sopranino recorder).1(=Ebcl+bcl).1(=cbsn) – 1(=whip).1(=ptpt).1.0 – perc(1): 3 gongs/2 timp/2 crot/talking drum/tgl/2 susp.cym/suspended sheet of paper/2 c.bell/2 SD/field drum/kit BD/vibraslap – pno – 2 vln.vla.vlc.db

Commissioned by the Arts Council of Great Britain for the London Sinfonietta

First Performance
11.2.1994, Barbican Hall, London, UK: London Sinfonietta/Oliver Knussen

Score 0571517064 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

I Angels
II Aurochs
III Militiamen
IV H.A.L.’s Death
V Playing Funerals

“When the men asked him what he wanted to be, the child did not name any of their own occupations, as they had all hoped he would, but replied: ‘I am going to be a hero, and dance with angels and bulls, and fight with bulls and soldiers, and die a hero in outer space, and be buried a hero’. Seeing him standing there, the man felt small, understanding that they were not heroes, and that their lives were less substantial than the dreams which surrounded the child like toys.”

anon. (from the Spanish)

The child/hero’s dream-adventures form the five ‘figurative’ sections, offset by three more volatile, dynamic paragraphs: painting versus film, perhaps.

First Angels, a long horn solo haloed with gongs and little trumpets. Then, with a change in tempo and the first bass note (a B), into the ring charges an Aurochs (the extinct European bison). He is whipped and goaded by the brutal, elegant matodor-kid until his bellows of defeat (horn again) metamorphose into the first appearance of a ‘hero’s theme’. This rolling, square tune, makes three appearances, immediately preceding each of the three unnumbered sections (BALETT etc.). In these, there is a reordering of shared material (hence anagrammatical titles): three-voice descending chords, each voice restricted to a single interval. Recurring in BATTLE and dominating TABLET, this material is evolved in BALETT from a fragment of the bullfight out of which it flies: descending E-D-C (horn, inversion of the start of the hero’s theme), combined with the angelic horn solo (trombone, this time).

The BALETT cadences abruptly on a menacing octave ‘B’ where the hero has a bad dream – a grotesque army, led by a pair of virtuosi (one is a maniacal drummer, the other has a nightmarish talking bugle), advances on him to the point when – it being forbidden to dream one’s own death – he switches dreams. He is in a film, in deepest space, dismantling a great computer, whose vast intelligence dwindles to a wilting Vicwardian music-hall waltz (contrabasson and double-bass). It is the gentlest of executions, and the little astronaut whistles his tune like the sweet fifing of a tiny recorder.

There follows an unstoppable, suffocating BATTLE, in which the monstrous militiamen reappear and (E minor climax) finish their fell work. Our hero dreams himself a full military funeral, with muffled drums and tear-blurred mass humming of his tune; a TABLET is erected, and there is a three-gun salute, or three cheers, or three rockets, or three big puffs of dust as the story book is slammed shut and he drifts off to join his first adversaries.

© 1994 Thomas Adès

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Living Toys' reviews

'…an overwhelming onslaught of invention…Like Strauss, Mr Adès can weave disparate materials into an entrancing musical story.' Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Oliver Knussen

One of the great composer-conductors of our time, Oliver Knussen created a body of work characterised by its...

read more