Scherzo (with trains)


four clarinets
Woodwind Ensemble
III=basset horn.IV=bcl
Composed for Joy Farrall and The Mannheim Ensemble
First Performance
6.12.93, Wigmore Hall, London: The Mannheim Ensemble/Joy Farrall

Score and parts on special sale from the Hire Library

Programme Notes
This piece was composed in 1993 to a commission from the Mannheim Group. It takes its title from the use of the rhythms of high-speed trains and was also inspired by the chapter “Sounds” in Henry David Thoreau’s book ‘Walden’. Julian Anderson

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Derek Bermel

US composer and clarinettist Derek Bermel has been widely hailed for his creativity, theatricality, and virtuosity...

read more