String Quartet No 1


string quartet
String Quartet
Commissioned by and written for the Arditti Quartet
First Performance
6.3.79, University of Southampton: Ars Nova Festival/Arditti Quartet

Score 0-571-50643-7 and parts 0-571-55500-4 on sale

Programme Notes
String Quartet no 1 This one-movement quartet was generated entirely by the innocent unison melody which occurs near the beginning. Having written this melody I analysed it, (the first stage of departure from innocence) and used the background structure, a pattern of dominant sevenths mostly, to shape the piece as a whole. The melody grows in wisdom by acquiring ornaments, “radiances” of doubling, by having its segments severely developed (in passages where one instrument plays the attack and another the sustained part of a note) and by absorbing violently energetic emotional outbursts. The work was commissioned by and written for the Arditti Quartet. Jonathan Harvey

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Jonathan Harvey

read more