Symphony for Brass


brass ensemble of 10 players
Brass Ensemble
ptpt.3 trbn.btrbn.tuba
First Performance
8.7.79, Cheltenham Festival: Philip Jones Brass Ensemble/Howard Snell

Score 0-571-57115-8 (fp) on sale, parts on special sale from hire library

Programme Notes

Malcolm Arnold is well known to brass players as a composer of often extrovert sounding music specially suited to the bright colors obtainable from brass instruments. . .The first symphony that was written for the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble is in four movements. The music explores a wide range of moods from brilliant and brash to wistful. The work culminates in a vigorous double fugue, both fearsomely difficult to play and exciting to listen to. Philip Jones Please contact Philip Jones for permission to use this.

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Thomas Adès

read more