Farewell, A


chamber ensemble of 3 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble

Commissioned by Marcus Davey for Dartington Arts with funds provided bySouth West Arts

First Performance
31.5.92, Dartington Great Hall, Devon: Ireland Trio

Score and parts 0-571-56855-6 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

There is no hidden programme for this little trio, but the title, used by John Dowland for consort and viol music has its own resonance. It is a quiet and oblique work with a simple and clear shape. Although there is only one movement, it contains six juxtaposed fragments (one of which is repeated): 1. A throwaway opening dominated by the piano, but with viola and clarinet providing echoes and resonance, steadily acquires force and energy and builds to 2. a slow, almost monumental section of descending, alternating major thirds and minor sixths. From out of the gloom at the end of this bit emerges 3. a little imitative passage, shared between the three, and which the piano softly punctuates, gathering up the harmony. This leads to 4. a scurrying, sotto voce clarinet solo. 5. The descending-chords passage comes again: this time stretched and shrunk (…minor thirds, major sixths). The music again darkens, this time into 6. a ruminative viola solo against a wash of clarinet and keyboard. Seven repeated notes toll the music into 7. a final gentle and melancholy envoy.

© John Woolrich

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Jonathan Harvey

One of the most important British Composers of the 20th Century, Jonathan Harvey composed music of radiant beauty....

read more