Journey Ends Here, The


solo cello and chamber ensemble of 19 players
Solo Instrument(s) with Ensemble
Instrumentation - hn.tpt.trbn - perc(1): 2 tam-t - harp - pno - 2 vln.2 vla.vlc.db
First Performance
30.10.01, UK, CBSO Centre, Birmingham: Birmingham Contemporary Music Group/Pierre-Andre Valade

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes
The Journey Ends Here The opening words of the final section of my large-scale work for soprano and ensemble, Continuum, provide the title for this piece, which is an arrangement for solo cello and ensemble of the setting of the poem Casa sul mare ('House by the Sea') by Eugenio Montale. It was written as a farewell present to Simon Clugston for his last concert as artistic director of the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group in October 2001; the mood is quiet and reflective. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

David Matthews

read more