fl(=afl).cl(=bcl) – perc(1): 6 gong/siz.cym/susp.cym/tam-t/2 congas/bongos/guiro/crot/shakers/sand blocks/mar – gtr – pno – harp – vln.vla.db


Score 0571518834 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

Scena is a quasi-operatic scene either for singer and ensemble or for a singer-like solo instrument and ensemble. In this case the solo violin proceeds through several dramatic events roughly signalled in the score as Lament, Mystical Event (the arrival of woodwind), Romantic Event, Dream (slow tremolando swells) and Metamorphosis (which takes and transforms a melody - one I have used in my work Lotuses). Scena was written for Irvine Arditti and the Nieuw Ensemble of Amsterdam, who commissioned it with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain.

Jonathan Harvey


No Venue (Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria)



Hochschule für Musik (Detmold, Germany)

Andrey Doynikov


Slee Hall, State University of New York at Buffalo (Buffalo, NY, USA)

Julien Leroy, Slee Sinfonietta, Alexandra Greffin-Klein


Museum of Art (Tel Aviv, Israel)

Israel Contemporary Players, Ilan Volkov, Yael Barolsky


National Concert Hall (Taipei, Taiwan)

Nieuw Ensemble, Ed Spanjaard