‘A magnificent orchestral journey through chaos to consolation.’ The Times


5(III=picc+bfl.IV+V=picc).5(IV=ca.V=bob).5(II=Ebcl.IV=Ebcl+A+optionally basset cl.V=cbcl).4.cbsn – 8.5(I=ptpt ad lib).3.2 – timp(2) – perc(6): glsp/xyl/vib/mar/crot/tuned anvils/tuned tins, pans or cans/4 large handbells/t.bells or bell plates (or bells)/3 further bell plates (or bells) ad lib/7 tuned gongs/cyms/SD/TD (with snares)/log drum/large gong/tam-t/BD – harp – pno(=cel) – strings


Facsimile score 0571536743 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

The title of this one-movement symphony, Tevot (tey-VOT), means in Hebrew bars of music.

Also, in the Bible, תיבה (tey-VA) is the ark of Noah, and the cradle in which the baby Moses is carried on the river.

It was commissioned by the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker and The Carnegie Hall Corporation. The world premiere is at the Berliner Philharmonie by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle on February 21, 2007.  The United States premiere is at Carnegie Hall, New York City by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle on November 14, 2007.

© 2006 Thomas Adès


'Adès takes the listener on a vivid sonic journey, juxtaposing tensile motifs on woodwinds, strings and percussion with constantly moving, seductively textured blocks of sound.’
Financial Times (Andrew Clark), 20 February 2010
‘Strongly recommended.’
International Record Review (David Gutman), February 2010
'A breathtakingly sustained atmosphere of cosmic grandeur takes over… It’s spectacular and haunting.’
The Metro (Warwick Thompson), 12 February 2010


Bridgewater Hall (Manchester, United Kingdom)

Hallé Orchestra/Thomas Adès

Find Out More