Clarinet Trio


violin, clarinet and piano
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
cl - pno - vln
Commissioned by the Verdehr Trio and Michigan State University
First Performance
23.10.05: Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, USA: Verdehr Trio

Score and parts on special sale from the Hire Library, (

Programme Notes
This short Clarinet Trio uses only delicate sounds on the piano, in an attempt to balance the combination of instruments. It is a 'dancing' piece, with strictly serialised tempo changes which correspond to the pitch lines that are used. These are inflected, however, by entirely pentatonic note-groups, non-serial and out-of-time. We hear an interplay of two worlds. It was commissioned by the Verdehr Trio and the University of Michigan. Jonathan Harvey

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Alexander L'Estrange

Alexander L’Estrange (b. 1974) is a British choral composer and arranger whose music is performed...

read more