chamber ensemble of 9 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
3 fl - perc(2): vib/bells - harp - 2 vlc.db
First Performance
15.12.1972, Sussex University: Music Faculty Ensemble/Colin Matthews

Score withdrawn

Programme Notes

Colin Matthews Ceres Ceres was composed in 1972 while I was teaching at the University of Sussex, where it had its first performance. Its title refers both to the folksong material on which it is indirectly based (‘John Barleycorn’), and also, as a play on words, to the ‘series’ derived from that folksong. But it’s really an ‘anti-series’, since at the time I was reacting very strongly against serialism, and had recently discovered the delights of process music. Ceres is, essentially, a pure process piece in which a mosaic of melodic fragments is built up and taken apart, with a simple melodic centre. The work (which lasts about 11 minutes) is virtually static, thoroughly diatonic, and very quiet. For a performance which I directed at the Royal Northern College of Music in 1985, it was slightly renotated, but not recomposed. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Malcolm Arnold

‘...this unashamed eclectic, is also a great and sorely neglected symphonist.  Number seven is a huge,...

read more