Lament for String Sextet


string sextet
String Ensemble
2 vln.vla.2 vlc.db
First Performance
19.8.1993, Great Hall, Dartington International Summer School: Brodsky String Quartet

A4 score (fp) 0-571-55515-2 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes

I first met the Brodsky Quartet at the Dartington International Summer School in 1993. Mike, Ian, Paul and Jacqueline were preparing for a concert of my music, and we quickly established a firm friendship. A week earlier, Ruth Boyle, the wife of my publisher, Robin Boyle, had died in London. Feeling that the Dartington concert needed another piece added to it, I decided to arrange my Lament for Strings (1976) for string sextet, and to dedicate it to the memory of Ruth. The work, then, was written especially for the Brodsky Quartet – augmented by a cello and double bass. It received a very emotional premiere. The second performance of the work took place in the Sydney Opera House one month later, when, to my delight the Brodksy’s toured Australia. The performance was equally emotional: Paul’s father had died in Ireland on that very day, and we dedicated that performance to his memory. In one movement, the Lament is in three clearly-defined sections: the first is desolate, with the melodic line shared between cello and first violin; the second is somewhat impassioned; and, following the climax, the last, dominated by the cello, is again desolate. The work does, however, end with some degree of hope.

Peter Sculthorpe

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Ralph Vaughan Williams

One of the defining voices in English Music, a leading 20th-century symphonist and a crucial figure in the...

read more