Oboe Quartet No.1


oboe and string trio
Mixed Chamber Ensemble

Commissioned by the University of Nottingham for their centenary year

First Performance
29.11.81, Music Studio, Nottingham University: Russell Keable/Catherine Dendy/Jonathan Cane/Paul Goodwin (oboe)

Score 0-571-50704-2 and parts 0-571-50692-5 on sale

Programme Notes
Colin Matthews Oboe Quartet no 1 for oboe and string trio Commissioned by the University of Nottingham for their centenary year. My Oboe Quartet was written early in 1981 to a centenary year commission from the University of Nottingham. The work, which lasts about 10 minutes, is in fifteen short sections (all linked by related tempi) in which all four instruments alternate with the four different combinations that can make up a trio. This framework is separate from the musical argument, in which variations on the three ideas set out in the opening section evolve continuously. The music attempts to be both capricious and lyrical, though not necessarily both at the same time. Colin Matthews

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Oboe Quartet No 1' reviews

‘…the sharp, finely detailed reactions of the oboe and the three strings were as subtle as the music itself in its ingenious meshing of a skillfully plotted textural variety and a naturally self-generating sense of creative continuity.’ The Daily Telegraph (Robert Henderson), 18 April 1984 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Michael Daugherty

One of the most performed of all contemporary American composers, multiple Grammy Award-winning Michael...

read more