solo viola

Commissioned by the Nash Concert Society for the Nash Ensemble

First Performance
5.3.09, Wigmore Hall, London: Lawrence Power

Score 0-571-53635-2 on sale

Programme Notes

This short piece explores the richly varied timbres of the viola for which I have always had a special affection (possibly due to my having been a very unpromising student of the instrument in my teens!) The basic trajectory of the music is a long upwardly flowing melodic line, by turns contemplative and lyrical. This is interrupted by versions of contrasting sonorities and episodes. Prayer is dedicated to Ginny Macbeth, in gratitude for, and recognition of, her persistent efforts to help classical music in general and contemporary composers in particular. It was commissioned by the Friends of the Nash Ensemble, and lasts about 7 minutes.

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Michael Daugherty

One of the most performed of all contemporary American composers, multiple Grammy Award-winning Michael...

read more