String Quartet No.3


string quartet
String Quartet
Commissioned by Warwick University for the twenty first anniversary of the Coull String Quartet
First Performance
11.5.95, Butterworth Hall, Warwick University: Coull String Quartet

A4 facsimile score (fp) 0-571-55477-6 and parts (fp) 0-571-55478-4 on sale

Programme Notes
Nicholas Maw String Quartet No. 3 This quartet, commissioned by Warwick University for the twenty first anniversary of the Coull String Quartet, was completed in December of 1994. Though considerably more concise than my two previous string quartets, this work shares with them a preoccupation with the coalescing of several characteristic movement forms into a larger whole, in this case a single structure built of five clearly differentiated movement-sections. The first of these, marked Moderato grazioso e semplice, opens with a lyrical statement on the violin that forms the basis of the whole movement-section. There follows a Larghetto pesante with something of the character of a folk dirge, enclosing cadenzas for violin, cello and viola. At the centre of the work are two fast movements. In the first of these, marked Presto volante, the four instruments are muted until near the end. The overall mood is ghostly and nocturnal, but there are several violent interruptions. The following Allegro marcarto is a stamping dance in a constantly fluctuating metre. A short reprise of the Larghetto pesante acts as a transition into the final movement, a passacaglia marked Lento molto. The ground bass, repeated forty one times, goes through all twelve transpositions. The work ends with a short coda, consisting of a reminiscence of the opening movement followed by a series of quiet triadic chords. Nicholas Maw

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'String Quartet No 3' reviews

'… the Coull Quartet has brought into the world a work that will retain a place in the repertoire … a string quartet of exceptionally high quality … the motivation in an inspired surge of melody is both unmistakable and emotionally convincing.' The Times (Gerald Larner), 12 May 1995 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Matthew Hindson

One of Australia’s most dynamic and successful composers. His invigorating soundworld is both immediate and...

read more